Intro and question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Intro and question

Thought I better finally introduce myself to the forum. I'm a newbie jafa watch enthusiast, recently introduced to the world of mechanical watches by a mate. I own a few quartz watches, including Tag purchased circa 1996, and a Raymond Weil and Rado Dynastar inherited from the late old man. Did a bit of swotting up and pulled the trigger on an Omega Speedmaster automatic at end of 2011. Love the chronograph complications etc. I have recently acquired a lovely Orient Star World Time from Hammers (thanks Bryn, the watch looks great, and you were a pleasure to trade with :D ). I am learning a lot from the many watch enthusiasts on this forum and am hoping to make it along to the Auckland gathering next Friday.

I'm starting to get my head around the various terminology used in the watch world (thanks to the good folk here at TK) however I am confused by the difference between "mechanical", "manual" and "automatic". My understanding is that both manual and automatic are mechanical ie. not quartz/battery powered, and that manual means hand-wound, while automatic is wound by movement of the wearers arm? Yet in some quarters, it would seem that mechanical refers only to manual?

Hope someone is able to assist - apologies if this is a bit of a dumb question.

Cheers Steve.

Hi Steve

Welcome to the forum. You got it pretty much spot on but as for confusion, there is plenty of that to go around. Stick around long enough and you will know what I mean.

Look forward to meeting you on Friday night, once we work out where it will be.

Cheers
    Paul
    'I hope, when i die, my wife doesn't sell my watches for what I told her I paid for them.'

Comment

Welcome mate and hopefully see you at Father Ted's Friday

Mechanical watches are either manually wound or automatically wound... an automatic may or may not also be able to manually wind.