'Professional' dive watch?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 'Professional' dive watch?

I think I understand the ISO 6425 'Diver's' designation and I've even heard of the JIS standard, but is there any kind of standard for a 'professional' diver's watch?

It seems I often see dive watches with 'professional' or 'pro' on the dial, but I can't find any decent info on what is actually meant by professional. I get the impression that 300m+ and a general suitability for helium enriched diving may possibly have something to do with it, but I'm guessing really. And then there's the 'professional' speedmaster too isn't there?

I'm confused Any assistance appreciated!

Dunno if I'm right but I have a seamaster "professional" and I always thought it meant the watch would stand up to the rigours of every day use by diving professionals..... mine has never been wet of course but it looks pretty cool
    “I want to touch base on how we’ll synergize the pivot going forward”

Comment

This information might be helpful although I think Don already explained it somewhere on the fora :?

Water resistance part I

The International Organisation for Standardisation issued a standard for water resistant watches which also prohibits the term waterproof to be used with watches, which many countries have adopted.

Water resistance is achieved by the gaskets which forms a watertight seal, used in conjunction with a sealant applied on the case to help keep water out. The material of the case must also be tested in order to pass as water resistant.

None of the tests defined by ISO 2281 for the Water Resistant mark are suitable to qualify a watch for scuba diving. Such watches are designed for everyday life and must be water resistant during exercises such as swimming. They can be worn in different temperature and pressure conditions but are under no circumstances designed for scuba diving.