Omega Speedmaster Project

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Omega Speedmaster Project

I have always been a big fan of the Speedmaster Pro and was surprised when this one popped up on trademe a few months ago with a $50 reserve. I watched it with interest expecting it to get a fair bit of attention but to my surprise I won it for a steal. It is a case with dial and movement ring/dust cover but no movement. I was hoping someone could tell me what year it might be from and what movement is correct for it.

Attached files

Being an Omega pro I thought you might have known this already.
    According to the Omega website the reference 145.0012 is from 1966 and should have a cal 321 movement.
    Preparation and planning prevent piss poor performance

Comment

Unless pro stands for project aha!

So the caseback seems like it could be from 1966 but the bezel is a bit strange as it has 220 on the tachymetre where it should read 200. Also it is not a "dot over 90" which indicates it could be from a bit later than 67 maybe?

Comment

I think the 0012 or the extra 0 in the no. indicates a replacement case since new (not a bad thing just not the original case/case back. I cant see from the pictures but the dial should read "T swiss made T" for it to be original to the 321 movement it changed to the swiss made dropping the T when tritium was banned and luminova became the norm and the 321 should be in the back, check the number on the movement when you get a chance. the bezel looks genuine (going by the tachymetre type face) but is a later replacement part.

all this said, if its got a nice 321 in the back and you can get the parts easy enough and cheap enough it will make a nice old watch for the collection :thumbup:

edit: I cant be sure but it looks like the omega logo is printed on? not sure but I think the 166/67 321 models all had applied omega logo on dial