Omega 1960's Men's Wrist Watch || TM: 1623096879 then TM: 1624210200

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Omega 1960's Men's Wrist Watch || TM: 1623096879 then TM: 1624210200

Came up for sale this afternoon on TM and gone already.

Could be mistaken as a very clean example of a a forties / fifties WWW.

Seller does state that the watch was refurbished a number of years ago and this may we’ll be genuine. However if it was refurbished then it was done so at the expense of the originality of the watch.

To those gents on this forum I consider masters at this, apologies for my complete novice identification of issues here and no doubt there is considerable evidence I have missed.

The cathedral hands are incorrect, as sword style hands were used, as is the lume for the period. As most of you probably know, radium or tritium lume as was used on these watches, over the timeframe gives an orange or brown appearance, not green as evidenced on this watch.

The Y issue number is from early forties where the WWW’s has a sub second dial where the serial number is from a later period when the watch didn’t have Sub seconds.

I’ve no idea on what movement it is, but it is incorrect for the watch.

The broad arrow used on the face is consistent with the broad arrow from early forties, however this style of military Omega used a “fat arrow”

In saying all this, as a possible franken, at the price it was sold at, it may well be considered a nice piece with some interest behind it, however it is not what it could be construed as, which is an authentic issued Omega

Last edited by Admin; 06-05-18, 19:39.

Bwaaaa I'll bite...

Click image for larger version  Name:	blacktie.png Views:	1 Size:	298.1 KB ID:	41602

================================================== ===============

SOLD yesterday in 1623096879 to evenflow10 for $350

https://www.trademe.co.nz/antiques-c....htm?archive=1

Click image for larger version  Name:	1623096879.png Views:	1 Size:	646.9 KB ID:	41600